Serie A: Juventus Women Win 5th Consecutive Title



By Babalola Seyi

Juventus won the Serie A Women’s title for the fifth season in a row on Saturday.

The Turin giants won the championship with a 3-1 win against Sassuolo, maintaining their five-point advantage over Roma, who can no longer catch them.

Barbara Bonansea, Cristiana Girelli, and Lisa Boattin scored to ensure that former Arsenal coach Joe Montemurro won the Italian title in his debut season in charge.

The previous record of five straight victories was set by Sassari Torres from 2010 and 2013, who holds the most league titles of any club in women’s football with seven.

Juventus has dominated women’s Serie A since its inception in 2017, reaching the Champions League quarterfinals before being defeated by seven-time European champions Lyon.

They may accomplish a domestic hat trick if they defeat Roma in the Italian Cup final on May 22. They won the trophy before in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *