Connect with us


De Bruyne, Jorginho, Kante Battle For Uefa Player Of The Year Award



Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne and Chelsea pair N’Golo Kante and Jorginho are in the running for Uefa’s 2020-21 male player of the year award after topping an all-midfield shortlist published on Thursday.

All featured in Euro 2020 – De Bruyne for Belgium, Kante with France and Jorginho with winners Italy – and the shortlist is the first in the 11-year existence of the award to feature only midfielders.

Uefa did not reveal the number of votes cast for the three.

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, the six times Ballon d’Or winner who has moved from Barcelona to Paris St Germain, was fourth on the list.

Bayern Munich’s Polish striker Robert Lewandowski, last year’s winner, came in fifth with PSG’s Gianluigi Donnarumma and Kylian Mbappe sixth and seventh.

The top player from Euro 2020 finalists England was Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling in eighth. Portugal and Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo was ninth and Norway and Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland 10th.

The votes were cast by coaches of the 24 national teams that featured at Euro 2020 as well as 80 coaches of clubs that played in the group stages of Uefa’s competitions and journalists from each of Uefa’s 55 member associations.

The winner will be named on August 26, along with Uefa’s women’s player of the year and Champions League positional award winners, at the Champions League group stage draw in Istanbul.

The women’s shortlist is comprised of three Barcelona midfielders – Jennifer Hermoso and Lieke Martens along with Alexia Putellas.

The shortlist for men’s coach of the year featured Champions league finalists Pep Guardiola of Manchester City and Thomas Tuchel of Chelsea along with Italy’s Roberto Mancini.

The women’s team coach of the year has two men in the running with Barcelona’s Lluis Cortes and Sweden’s Peter Gerhardsson up against Chelsea’s Emma Hayes. (Reuters)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts


News15 hours ago

Coleman Wires and Cables Joins Bigi Abeokuta 10KM Race

Organizers of the Abeokuta 10KM Race, Nilayo Sports Management Limited (NSML) have confirmed Coleman Wires and Cables as the latest...

News2 days ago

Bar. Edeh Hails Falcons Display Against Mali, Applauds Organisers For ‘Extraordinary Job.

President of Ratels Sports Development Foundation (RSDF), Barrister Paul Edeh on wednesday praised the organisers of Aisha Buhari Tournament for...

News2 days ago

The TEN Commandments! Akhiwu Eugene Rolls Out To Develop Edo Chess Association

In a season when reputable individuals who can come to the fore and put to place their skills, experience and...

NPFL3 days ago

Enyimba Appoint Finidi George As New Coach

Enyimba Football Club has appointed Finidi George as its new head coach. The former Ajax and Real Betis winger, who...

News3 days ago

Line Up Live Up: Award Winning Journalist Aderonke Bello selected for Sports-Based Life Skills Programme

The Federal Government of Nigeria has selected Award Winning Journalist, Sports for Development Enthusiast and Gender Advocate, AderonkeOgunleye-Bello as Representative...

News3 days ago

Stakeholders and players praise Monimichelle over Mobolaji Johnson Arena

Stakeholders have commended the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, formerly Onikan Stadium billed to host the Aisha Buhari Cup. Nigeria and Mali...

News3 days ago

36 Lion Set To Open Training Tour With Fierce Battle With AS Cotonou

36 Lion late Tuesday trained at the Stade René Pleven d’Akpakpa ahead of the their opening game against AS Cotonou....

News3 days ago

Rite Foods, Ogun State Government Reiterate Commitment For Abeokuta 10KM Race

Organizers of the Abeokuta 10km Race, Nilayo Sports Management Limited (NSML) have confirmed that the 2021 edition of the event...